Thief’s Mark, by Carla Neggers

The Sharpe and Donovan Series Continues

In a complex mystery, Carla Neggers brings us the latest in the Sharpe and Donovan Series.

A current day murder appears connected to a murder kidnapping that happened many years before. Oliver York was a victim of one, but might he be the murderer in the other?

FBI Agents, Colin and Emma Donovan are just returning from their honeymoon when two events disrupt their return home.  The first, a break-in at her grandfather’s home in Ireland.  The second, a murder in England.

Oliver York was a difficult child, but after tragedy struck, the little town couldn’t really blame him.. Now grown up, he has a past that makes trust difficult.  He was an art thief who the family has run into before. Now he is part of MI 5. Trouble still seems to follow him. This time was he simply in the wrong place or is it possible he is a killer? If he is innocent, why did he take off?

As Emma and Colin hunt for the missing Oliver, the past and present collide.   The two men who killed Oliver’s parents and kidnapped the boy disappeared after he escaped.  So why did one come back now after all this time?

Lives are bound to overlap in a small town. Which could be why Henrietta is watching Oliver. Growing up together they know each other so well. Former MI 5 herself, she left to become a garden designer/consultant.  Or has she? Is her past career drawing her in to the investigation, or is there something more going on?

A Clever Mystery

Ms. Neggers writes with a low key, thoughtful style, similar to many British authors.  So appropriate for a novel that travels between England, Ireland and the United States.  It is a procedural, yet with all the familial connections, the closeness of the small communities, it becomes even more interesting.  So many details, so many characters, with many holding secrets close.  The characters are well developed, especially if you’ve read other books in the series.

She combines romance with mystery which makes the characters that much more likable. All done without explicit sexual scenes or bad language.

It’s a great series from a terrific author.  It stands alone so you can start the series with this book.  If you prefer to read in order, you might start with Saint’s Gate, where Colin and Emma first meet.

I received a copy of this book as part of the virtual book tour for Thief’s Mark, hosted by TLC Book Tours.. I purchased the audiobook myself to enjoy the whispersync feature.  It’s very handy to go back and forth while driving especially.    Either way you will enjoy the story and will be wanting more!

Book Description

  • Series: Sharpe & Donovan (Book 8)
  • Hardcover: 336 pages
  • Publisher: MIRA (August 29, 2017)

A murder in a quiet English village, long-buried secrets and a man’s search for answers about his traumatic past entangle FBI agents Emma Sharpe and Colin Donovan in the latest edge-of-your-seat Sharpe & Donovan novel

As a young boy, Oliver York witnessed the murder of his wealthy parents in their London apartment. The killers kidnapped him and held him in an isolated Scottish ruin, but he escaped, thwarting their plans for ransom. Now, after thirty years on the run, one of the two men Oliver identified as his tormentors may have surfaced.

Emma Sharpe and Colin Donovan are enjoying the final day of their Irish honeymoon when a break-in at the home of Emma’s grandfather, private art detective Wendell Sharpe, points to Oliver. The Sharpes have a complicated relationship with the likable, reclusive Englishman, an expert in Celtic mythology and international art thief who taunted Wendell for years. Emma and Colin postpone meetings in London with their elite FBI team and head straight to Oliver. But when they arrive at York’s country home, a man is dead and Oliver has vanished.

As the danger mounts, new questions arise about Oliver’s account of his boyhood trauma. Do Emma and Colin dare trust him? With the trail leading beyond Oliver’s small village to Ireland, Scotland and their own turf in the United States, the stakes are high, and Emma and Colin must unravel the decades-old tangle of secrets and lies before a killer strikes again.

New York Times bestselling author Carla Neggers delivers the gripping, suspense-filled tale readers have been waiting for.

Purchase Links

Amazon | Books-A-Million | Barnes & Noble

About Carla Neggers

Carla Neggers is the New York Times bestselling author of more than 60 novels, including her popular Sharpe and Donovan and Swift River Valley series. Her books have been translated into 24 languages and sold in over 35 countries. A frequent traveler to Ireland, Carla lives with her family in New England. To learn more and to sign up for her newsletter, visit

 Connect with Carla

Website | Facebook | Twitter

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. This is a series I’ve been meaning to get into for a while – I think I’d really enjoy it.

    Thanks for being a part of the tour!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *