Murder in Little Shendon, by A. H. Richardson

How Many Will Die?

The first victim is Bartholomew Fynche. An anti-social retired gentlemen who shared his knowledge of antiquities in his little shop.

Police Inspector Stanley Burgess races to the scene of the murder. It is a puzzler, since nothing appears stolen and access was easy. He quickly realizes with an entire town to question, he is going to need some help.

Sir Victor Hazlitt, accompanied by his friend, actor Beresford Brandon, journey to Little Shendon to aid Inspector Burgess in the hunt for the killer. A difficult task, once they discover that nearly the entire town disliked Fynche. Some disliked, some disapproved, and some hated the man. Few are sorry he is gone. Still, why would someone kill him?

How does one narrow down such a large field of suspects?

The Investigation

The story has that distinctively British flair that is a pleasure to read. The setting is post World War 2. Still such ladies and gentlemen there in Great Britain. including Lords, Ladies, Sirs, and so on. The characters are drawn more   “proper” than you might see today, as befit the age.

You can picture the people, their collected manner. Even as law enforcement keeps to it, in a quiet fashion, going clue by clue, step by step. With Sir Victor and Brandon on the scene as well, time can be divided. Each has their own style of questioning, each their own strength to contribute. The three make a likable team.

Small Town Murder

In a way it reminds me of the best of a cozy murder. It remains lighthearted throughout. It does not contain explicit sex or a lot of bad language. It is more gentlemanly than that. Hearing their accents in your mind adds to it as well. Hopefully they will produce an audio version as well.

Was the victim killed because of business dealings? For cheating someone? Could he have simply offended a citizen for the last time? Or could his shop full of antiques contain items of more value than expected?

Do read it so you can see for yourself. It’s one you will enjoy from start to finish.

I received a copy of this book from the author, publisher or agency.

About The Book

The Hazlitt/Brandon Series of Murder Mystery Novels by A. H. Richardson

The Hazlitt/Brandon series of murder mystery novels follows
a pair of clever, colorful and charismatic sleuths – Sir Victor Hazlitt and Beresford Brandon – as they scratch their heads searching for clues to figure out whodunit

The first book in the series, Murder in Little Shendon, is a thriller murder mystery which takes place in a quaint little village in England after World War Two.

Picture, if you will, a picturesque village called Little Shendon, suddenly caught up in dealing with a murder of one of its citizens — not a particularly well-liked one at that. Which makes it all the more intriguing because the list of suspects becomes very long. This tantalizing tale unfolds with twists and turns to find out whodunit to Mr. Bartholomew Fynche, the murdered shopkeeper.

Fear grips the community as the investigation slowly progresses. Everyone is interviewed; everyone is suspect! From his housekeeper to Lady Armstrong and her household staff. Or could it be the shy librarian new in town? Or the defiant retired army major and his ladyfriend, the post mistress? Or perhaps the weird sisters who live on the edge of town? Then there is the couple who own the local inn and pub, along with the two Americans who are staying there? Even the vicar and his wife fall under the gloom of suspicion.

Uncertainty, wariness, and terror reign as neighbors watch neighbors to discover the evil that permeates their upturned lives. No one feels safe in this charming little village. Who is the murderer? And why was this strange uncivil man dispatched in such a seemingly civil community?

A murder mystery that will keep you reading until you learn the details, uncovered by Police Inspector Stanley Burgess and his two amateur detectives, Sir Victor Hazlitt and Beresford Brandon. The three sift methodically through the Alibis and life stories of the suspects until they uncover…

You are challenged to discover the culprit before the last few pages. And no fair looking ahead — it’s the journey that proves the most enticing.

About the Author:

A. H. Richardson was born in London England and is the daughter of famous pianist and composer Clive Richardson. She studied drama and acting at the London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art. She was an actress, a musician, a painter and sculptor, and now an Author.

She published her debut novel Jorie and the Magic Stones, a children’s chapter book, in December 2014. At the request of those who loved the first ‘Jorie’ story, Richardson has written a sequel titled Jorie and the Gold Key, and she is currently working on the third book in the series.

A.H. Richardson also enjoys writing murder mysteries and who-dun-its. She is the author of the Hazlitt/Brandon series of murder mystery novels. The series follows
a pair of clever, colorful and charismatic sleuths – Sir Victor Hazlitt and Beresford Brandon. The series includes
Murder in Little Shendon, Act One, Scene One – Murder, and Murder at Serenity Farm.

A. H. Richardson lives happily in East Tennessee, her adopted state, and has three sons, three grandchildren, and two pugs. She speaks four languages and loves to do voiceovers. She plans on writing many more books and hopes to delight her readers further with her British twist, which all her books have.

Readers can connect with her on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads.

To learn more, go to

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *